About TIPSC

Embracing the spirit of “Showing Taiwan to the world, bringing the world to Taiwan,” seeking to strengthen international contact, and wishing to improve the domestic percussion music learning environment, the Ju Percussion Group Foundation has held the Taipei International Percussion Summer Camp (TIPSC) since 1999, and this event is now in its 21st session. “Take summer vacation with art, see the future from the world”—TIPSC is current one of the most representative percussion summer camps worldwide, and has laid a foundation for the development of Taiwan into a center of global percussion music.

more

Instructors

Vassilena Serafimova

Serafimova is the first Bulgarian performer ever to claim the World Marimba Competition championship, and she is now active in the contemporary European music scene. She was invited to participate in the 10th TIPC (Taiwanese International Percussion Convention) in 2019, where for the first time she performed a duet with French pianist Thomas Enhco. Their performance was highly praised.

Yi-Ping Yang

Yang is a percussionist from Taiwan who has spent over 20 years in France. She has degrees in performance arts from France’s National Conservatory of Music and Dance in Lyon, Switzerland’s Geneva University of Music, and Germany’s Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich. Yang has also won first prize in three large competitions: the Percussion Trio at the International Percussion Competition Luxembourg, the International Timpani Competition of Lyon, and the TROMP Percussion Eindhoven. In 2014, she participated in the 8th Taiwan International Percussion Convention (TIPC) as a soloist, where her unique style was met with high praise from fans.

Jesus Diaz

Diaz is highly skilled in Latin instruments like the cajon, the bongo, and the conga while also being a composer and singer. He’s the world’s hottest instrumental performer in any studio, and is one of the most significant musicians in the drumming world.

Charlie Kenny

Kenny has been a professional drummer at Xenomania Records, Talon Music, and Ten21 Recording Studios in Kent County, England, and has done recordings for many famous artists. Lately he has been very active in making custom drum set music and teaching on online platforms.

Curriculums

Marimba

Through its diverse array of variation, the warm, clear, and soft timbre of Marimba can express a variety of magnificent, lyrical, dexterous, graceful, and rich sounds that can release a stunning musical energy. Vassilena Serafimova, a first-timer in Taiwan as a percussion summer camp lecturer, will guide students to experience resonating Marimba performances through her refined techniques and delicate interpretations of the music.

Percussion Ensemble

Sparks fly when a percussion ensemble works together to create a unique musical sound through the inclusion of a variety of percussion instruments, melding together into a rich, dynamic musical movement. Among all this richness of sound, the listener can still discern the intricacies of the ensemble. The well experienced Yi-Ping Yang will use her excellent and lively teaching style to guide students to learn how to work collaboratively and experience the joy of playing in an ensemble.

Cajon

Originating in Peru, the cajon is a very popular percussion instrument. What’s special about this instrument is that it is played by hitting the sides of the drum with the hands. Different sounds are produced by different techniques. The cajon can also be played to make a range of timbres and styles by using the soles of the feet or foot pedals. The 2020 TIPSC has invited the world-renown percussionist Jesus Diaz to be one of the camp lecturers, where he will help students gain a deep understanding of the multitude of ways to play the cajon, and will steep them in the passionate music of Latin America.

Drum Set

The drum set is very popular for its ability to express many kinds of rhythms and a diverse array of performance styles. The most difficult thing about playing the drum is having to coordinate all of your limbs. Under the guidance of Charlie Kenny, the student will practice until he or she feels comfortable picking up the rhythm. As you get a feel for how to play the drums and move your body, you’ll be carried away by the rise and fall of the drumbeats.

ARTS LECTURES

Integrating art forms from different disciplines is now a part of mainstream performance. For this year’s Taipei International Percussion Summer Camp, we’ve not only invited well known professionals to hold workshops on percussion instruments, we’ve also carefully planned lectures that cut across the traditional and the modern, as well as Taiwanese and world cultures. The inclusive events are an opportunity for cultural exchange and for students to move from one art form to another, giving them a more complete understanding of the performance arts. By applying the inspiration from this interdisciplinary approach to percussion performances, the student will ignite his or her creativity when taking to the stage.

关于夏令营 About TIPSC

秉持「台湾走出去、世界带进来」的精神,为强化与国际接轨、提升国内打击乐之学习环境,财团法人击乐文教基金会自1999年起,每年主办「TIPSC台北国际打击乐夏令研习营」,至今已将迈入第二十一届。「用艺术放暑假、从世界看未来」, TIPSC现今已是全球打击乐界最具代表性的夏令营之一,为台湾作为世界打击乐发展重镇奠下了重要的里程碑。

more

国际师资 Instructors

瓦希琳娜 • 瑟拉菲莫娃 Vassilena Serafimova

保加利亚首位获得世界马林巴木琴大赛冠军的演奏家,现活跃于当代欧洲乐坛。2019年受邀参与第10届TIPC台湾国际打击乐节,首度与法国钢琴家Thomas Enhco联手来台演出二重奏,大获好评。

杨怡萍 Yi-Ping Yang

来自台湾的击乐家杨怡萍,旅法逾二十年,拥有法国国立里昂高等音乐院、瑞士国立日内瓦高等音乐院、德国慕尼黑大学演奏家文凭,并囊括卢森堡三重奏、法国里昂定音鼓、荷兰击乐独奏三项国际大赛首奖。2014年以独奏家身份参与第8届TIPC台湾国际打击乐节,独特的演出风格,深受乐迷喜爱。

赫苏斯 • 迪亚兹 Jesus diaz

擅长演奏木箱鼓、邦哥鼓、康加鼓等多种拉丁乐器,同时也具备编曲家和歌手身份,是全球最炙手可热的录音室乐手,也是该领域最具指标性的音乐家之一。

查理 • 肯尼 Charlie Kenny

曾任Xenomania唱片、Talon音乐公司、英国伦敦肯特郡ten21录音室专职鼓手,替许多知名艺人录音,目前积极投入爵士鼓客制化录音与教学线上平台之经营。

课程内容 Curriculums

马林巴木琴 Marimba

马林巴木琴温暖清亮的柔美音色,透过多元的演奏变化,能够表现多种磅礡、抒情、灵巧、华丽、丰富多变的声响,释放出令人惊艳的音乐能量!首度来台担任打击乐夏令营讲师的瓦希琳娜.瑟拉菲莫娃(Vassilena Serafimova)将运用精湛的技巧、细腻的木琴诠释,带领学员感受极具感染力的木琴演奏。

击乐合奏 Keyboard Ensemble

透过各种鼓类乐器演奏出不同音色,相互交会碰撞出灿烂火花,融合成丰富多变的动人乐章,让你在丰富的声响中感受到合作演奏的精妙!拥有丰富演出经历的杨怡萍老师,将运用高超生动的教学方式,带领学员在学习过程中,透过团队合作建立默契,分享合奏所带来的乐趣。

木箱鼓 Cajon

起源于秘鲁的木箱鼓是一种非常流行的打击乐器,它的特色在于利用双手,在鼓面敲打、使用不同的技巧就能发出各种不同的声响,亦可以使用脚掌或脚踏板等辅助工具,在演奏中发展出多样的音色与风格。2020年TIPSC将邀请全球知名击乐家赫苏斯‧迪亚兹 担任讲师,带领学员深入了解学习木箱鼓多元化的演奏方式,徜徉在热情的拉丁美洲音乐。

爵士鼓 Drum Set

爵士鼓能够表现多种节奏形态、展现多元的演奏风格而受到人们喜爱,演奏爵士鼓最大的挑战在于重视四肢协调与统合。在讲师查理.肯尼(Charlie Kenny)的带领下,学员借着反复练习感受节奏上手的畅快,透过击奏强度与肢体展现,徜徉在鼓点抑扬顿挫的魅力之中。

艺术讲座 Arts lectures

跨领域的艺术融合,已成为当前表演型态的主流之一,今年的打击乐夏令营,除了延聘专业的知名师资进行打击乐主题授课外,也精心规划了横跨传统与现代、涵盖台湾与世界文化的艺术讲座。包罗万象的活动提供了文化交流的机会,让学员穿梭于不同的艺术领域,从而对表演艺术有更全面的认识,并将跨领域的艺术灵感应用在打击乐演奏上,激发演出时的创意展现!